HANOVER TOWNSHIP BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING – JANUARY 4, 2016 <u>**MINUTES**</u>

ROLL CALL OF HOLDOVER MEMBERS

Present: Commissioners George Bowers, Russell Davis, Jeffrey Lewis.

APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY CHAIRMAN

Motion by Lewis, secc. Davis that Jeffrey Lewis be appointed Temporary Chairman for the purpose of re-organization. On the motion the following voted yes: Bowers, Davis. Abstain: Lewis.

PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION

The Temporary Chairman called for the commissioners-elect to present their certificates of election to the township secretary. The secretary will read the certificates of Commissioners-elect for Albert J. Bagusky, Michael D. Mazur, William L. Howatt and George L. Andrejko.

Temporary Chairman introduced the Honorable Joseph A. Halesey, District Judge, who administered the Oath of Office to Commissioners Elect <u>Bagusky, Mazur, Howatt, Andrejko.</u>

Robert V. Davison, Esq., Solicitor will witness the signing of the Oaths of Office by the Commissioners.

Temporary Chairman declared that <u>Albert J Baguky</u>, <u>Michael D. Mazur</u>, <u>William L. Howatt and</u> <u>George L Andrejko</u> Commissioners of the Township of Hanover, County of Luzerne, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

PRESENTATION – OATH OF OFFICE

Motion by Bowers, secc. Davis that the Certificates of Election and the Oaths of Office are accepted and that the Certificates of Election be returned to the Commissioners, and the Oaths of Office be filed in the Office of the Township Secretary. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

Temporary Chairman requested that Commissioners Bagusky, Mazur, Howatt and Andrejko take their seats on the Board of Commissioners

NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMAN

Motion by Lewis, secc. Davis to nominate Albert Bagusky as Chairman of the Board of Commissioners. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

Commissioner Bagusky takes his seat as chairman.

Hanover Township Board of Commissioners January 4, 2016 Minutes – Page #2

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-CHAIRMAN

Motion by Lewis, secc. Bowers to nominate Jeffrey Lewis as Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

Commissioner Lewis takes his seat as vice-chairman.

APPOINTMENT OF TOWNSHIP SECRETARY

Motion by Lewis, secc. Bowers that Donna Makarczyk be appointed as Secretary of the Township of Hanover for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF TOWNSHIP MANAGER

Motion by Lewis, secc. Bowers that Sam Guesto be appointed as Manager of the Township of Hanover for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF TREASURER

Motion by Lewis, secc. Bowers that Mildred Luba be appointed as Treasurer of the Township of Hanover for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF SOLICITOR

Motion by Davis, secc. Mazur that Robert V. Davison, Esq. be appointed as Solicitor to the Board of Commissioners for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF TOWNSHIP ENGINEER

Motion by Davis, secc. Mazur that Reilly Engineers be designated as the Township Engineer on a negotiated fee basis effective January 1, 2016 to January 11, 2016. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

Hanover Township Board of Commissioners January 4, 2016 Minutes – Page #3

APPOINTMENT OF ZONING HEARING BOARD SOLICITOR

Motion by Davis, secc. Mazur that John Zelinka, Esq. be appointed as Solicitor to the Hanover Township Zoning Hearing Board for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF PLANNING COMMISSION SOLICITOR

Motion by Davis, secc. Mazur that Sam Sanguedolce, Esq. be appointed as Solicitor to the Hanover Township Planning Commission for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPONITMENT OF CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION SOLICITOR

Motion by Davis, secc. Mazur that Mike Blazick Esq. be appointed as the Hanover Township Civil Service Commission Solicitor for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary of \$147.00 per meetings plus any research costs. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF CODE ENFORCEMENT OFFICER-BUILDING INSPECTOR-PLUMBING-HVAC INSPECTOR AND ASSISTANT ZONING OFFICER

Motion by Lewis, secc. Mazur that Mark Bienias be appointed Code Enforcement Officer, Building/Plumbing/HVAC Inspector and Assistant Zoning Officer for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF ELECTRICAL INSPECTOR

Motion by Lewis, secc. Mazur that Harry Wood be appointed Electrical Inspector for a term of two (2) years effective January 1, 2016 at a salary as per the 2016 Salary and Compensation Resolution. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

Hanover Township Board of Commissioners Minutes – Page #4

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

Motion by Lewis, secc. Mazur that the Chairman appoint, at his discretion, the following Committees: Police Committee, Fire Committee, Traffic Control Committee, Budget Committee, Sanitary Committee, Flood Committee, Dike Committee, Human Resources Committee, Recycling Committee, Grant Committee, Insurance Committee, Invoice Committee, Web-Site Committee. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

APPOINTMENT OF VACANCY BOARD CHAIRMAN

Motion by Lewis, secc. Mazur that John Marut be appointed Vacancy Board Chairman for a term of one (1) year effective January 1, 2016. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

ADJOURMENT

Motion by Lewis, secc. Mazur to adjourn the meeting. On the motion the following voted yes: Andrejko, Bowers, Davis, Howatt, Lewis, Mazur, Bagusky. MOTION CARRIED.

Donna Makarczyk, Secretary